A few small projects in mind...

General questions regarding Linux.

Moderators: Terry, FWLUG Administrator

A few small projects in mind...

Postby theTick197 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:41 pm

Me and a friend of mine want to build a vpn for our houses. How do i need to go about doing that? Do i need a server for it?

Oh yes, and im trying to set my computer up so that i can ssh into it from another computer, not a local one, but one thats like at my other house or at school. What do i need to do to accomplish that and for it to be secure? I already have it set up where i can do that with a computer on the LAN.
theTick197

I am not an expert...

Postby Davemon » Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:01 am

But I think we need to know a little more about your network topography. How many computers, and where you want to connect to/from.

I do believe there are many utilities/modules that allow VPN.

I know its been a little while, but post what you want and lets see if we can get some answers for you.

Davemon
Davemon

Postby theTick197 » Tue Oct 30, 2007 10:17 pm

Ok, the vpn for me and my friend - We live in opposite ends of Aledo. I want to make it so that our two computers are connected and our xboxes also.

SSH setup - I would like to connect to my computer at my moms house ( in aledo ) from the computer at my dads house (weatherford). the network i have set up in aledo has 2pcs, an xbox, a ps3 that has ubuntu on it, and a sega dreamcast.
theTick197

Postby Terry » Tue Nov 13, 2007 10:37 am

If you have outside IP addresses on each of these locations, your goals will be feasable, if not, it will not be possible. In other words, it will depend on the type of Internet connections you have. You also have to make provision / allowances for pppoe or DHCP type connections if you have either of those.